Lavender Cocoa Butter Lip Balm

 

IMG_2203

I made my own lip balm today. It was a good start, but what’s a girl to do with 13 lip balm sticks, 2 lip balm pots, a lip balm tin, and a contact case (!) full of lip balm? Can you tell I made too much? I like it, though, and will be making more, but maybe not right away…

This recipe made a lot of lip balm, but I wanted to make 13 tubes of it only… And the lavender scent is not very strong, which is a little disappointing. Next time: less butter/oil, more scent. But this was a good start, and the lip balm will be very nourishing and natural!

Ingredients

*all measurements in ounces are weight, not volume.

  • 2 parts cocoa butter (I used 2 oz. Next time: 1 oz.)
  • 1 part candelilla wax (I used 1 oz. Next time: 0.5 oz.)
  • 2 parts coconut oil (I used 2 oz. Next time: 1 oz.)
  • 30 drops of lavender essential oil

Tools

  • pipette
  • double boiler
  • small metal or glass bowl
  • thermometer (optional)
  • 13 lip balm tubes (and a bunch of extra containers if you’re a dork and measured too much ingredients)

Directions

  1. In a double boiler, melt the wax, butter, and oils in a small container (glass or metal).
  2. Once the mixture is completely melted (around 160 F), add the essential oil.
  3. Turn off the heat, but leave the oils in the hot water. Otherwise, it will start to solidify as it cools.
  4. With a pipette, pipe the oil mixture into lip balm tubes. I put a rubber band around all 13 of the tubes to hold them in place.
  5. Allow them to cool completely before capping them.
