Fruit & Nut Bar Recipe

Over the last few months, I’ve discovered (and become addicted to) Kind bars. My favorite flavor is the Almond & Apricot bar. Eating it is a magical experience. This is a homemade recipe I’ve hobbled together, which doesn’t taste anything like the Kind bar, but is still darn-tootin’ delicious. I might try switching out the dried fruits with other varieties later on, but this seems like a good place to start.

This recipe will make about 10-12 bars.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of honey
  • 1/2 cup of maple syrup
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp of salt
  • 1/4 cup of juice (I have tried mango lemonade from Trader Joe’s and also apple juice. Both are tasty.)
  • 1/4 or 1/2 tsp of ground cinnamon (depends on how much cinnamon you like)
  • 1 cup of almonds (roughly chopped)
  • 1 cup of pecans (roughly chopped)
  • 1 cup of coconut flakes
  • 1 cup of your favorite puffed cereal (I like chocolate rice puffs)
  • 1/3 cup of dried blueberries
  • 1 cup of craisins
  • 1/3 cup of chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Heat the syrup, honey, vanilla, salt, cinnamon, and juice together in a pan on the stove. Stir frequently and heat evenly until the mixture is about 260 F.
  2. In a long glass pan (I used a 9 x 13 in casserole dish), combine the remaining dry ingredients.
  3. Once the stove-top mixture is hot enough, pour it over the dry ingredients in your glass pan. Mix well.
  4. Try to press the sticky, nutty mix flat, perhaps with a spatula.
  5. Let it sit for about 20 minutes, and then cut them into bars.
  6. Wrap the bars in something like wax paper to store in the refrigerator. This batch never makes it past a week on my watch… I just eat them too fast.
