Anise, Fir and Myrrh CP Soap Recipe

anisefirsoap

I’m still honing my CP soap recipe. I’ve done a few things differently this time than the first few times.

  • My last soaps were super moisturizing, but I found that they melted away more quickly than other soaps. I think it’s because I used 8% excess fat in my soaps – not enough lye – so the hardness of the soap was lower. This time, I lowered the percent excess fat from 8% to 6%.
  • The previous soaps had a nice smell to them, but I felt it was overall quite faint. I increased the amount of essential oils in this recipe.
  • I also just found out that the Palm Oil industry is notoriously unsustainable, so I’ve decided to use up my supply of Palm Oil, and then find a replacement oil.

Ingredients for twelve 4 oz bars of soap (in a 48 oz loaf mold, ~3 lbs of soap):
*All measurements are weight measurements, not liquid measurements.

  • 4.6 oz. lye (NaOH)
  • 9.6 oz. Olive Oil
  • 9.6 oz. Palm Oil
  • 9.6 oz. Coconut Oil
  • 3.2 oz. Sweet Almond Oil
  • 10 oz. water
  • 0.75 oz. Anise essential oil
  • 0.75 oz. Fir essential oil
  • 1 tbsp Myrrh gum powder

Directions:

More detailed directions here.

  1. In a well-ventilated area with proper safety gear, mix the lye and water together.
  2. Mix and heat your base oils to about 130F.
  3. Once the lye cools to within 10F of the oils, stir the Myrrh gum powder into the lye mixture.
  4. Using a stick blender, mix the base oils and lye/Myrrh gum powder until you almost reach trace.
  5. Add the essential oils and continue to blend until you reach trace.
  6. Pour into a loaf mold, wait a day, then cut. Cure for 6-8 weeks.
