Best Udon

I have a weak spot for ramen noodles (Who doesn’t?). It’s led me to discovering ramen udon noodles. After trying a few different brands, I’ve decided that this is the best one: Sanuki Udon. I’m not sure where you can get it online, though. I just get it from my local Asian grocery store.

Anyway, all you do is you cook it up like regular ramen (add noodles to spices and hot water), and then add whatever you want to it. I like doing it the Japanese way, with the poached egg.

Steps:

  1. Sautee vegetables (this time, I used mushrooms and red peppers, but you can really use whatever you want).
  2. Bring broth & noodles to a boil.
  3. Poach egg in the boiling broth/noodles. Cover pot with the lid and let cook for a few minutes. I like my egg yolk a little runny, so I just cover for 1-2 minutes.
  4. Add vegetables to your noodles! Pour into bowl and garnish with green onions.
